Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/content/73/7712173/html/templates/yoo_studio/index.php on line 16

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/content/73/7712173/html/templates/yoo_studio/layouts/template.config.php on line 10
Officers & Directors

Officers & Directors

LedbetterDavid O. Ledbetter, JD, is Chairman and President of The 500-Year Forest Foundation and a member of the executive committee. Special Counsel with Hunton & Williams, he is a specialist in environmental law and previously served as the Foundation’s secretary and pro bono attorney. David has been associated with the organization since its inception.






PaurilloFlorena Fay Paurillo, treasurer of The 500-Year Forest Foundation, is a supervising senior accountant with Hantzmon Wiebel, LLP, a CPA firm that has a well-established track record of working with Charlottesville-area nonprofits. Fay joined the firm in 2008 after years of accounting experience in the Philippines and completing a Masters in Accounting from Liberty University. For the Foundation, she anchors the finance and compliance work group.





SmithJeffrey L. Smith, secretary of The 500-Year Forest Foundation, was the Foundation’s program director for five years and brings much in the way of institutional history and continuity. He is on the forests work group and consults on fundraising and communications. He is executive director of Rush Homes, a Lynchburg-area nonprofit that builds housing for the physically challenged.  





BiasiolliFrancis C. Biasiolli, Ph.D., fills the board seat reserved for a 500-Year Forest owner, a role that also makes him a member of the executive committee.  Frank’s active membership in several other conservation organizations is a critical part of his effectiveness in the outreach and networking work group.






GoodallMcChesney Goodall, III, is a consulting forester. He is co-founder of the Virginia Forestry and Wildlife Group and coordinator of the Albemarle County (VA) Acquisition of Conservation Easements Program. Ches anchors the Foundation’s forests work group and also helps with outreach and networking.






HullieHullihen Williams Moore is a member of The 500-Year Forest Foundation executive committee and on the forest work group. Hullie brings a wealth of board experience that includes the Shenandoah National Park Trust. He practiced law in Richmond for 25 years and served as a member of the Virginia State Corporation Commission for 12. He is acclaimed as a nature photographer for his book “Shenandoah.”





PhillipsCarolyn L. Phillips, a science writer by training, is senior editor for S&P Capital IQ and a former Wall Street Journal reporter, bureau chief and assistant managing editor. She is a 500-Year Forest owner and member of the Foundation’s communications and fundraising work groups.






ShugartDr. Herman H. “Hank” Shugart is W. W. Corcoran Professor of Environmental Sciences and Director of the University of Virginia’s Center for Regional Environmental Studies. For the Foundation, he will anchor the education/research work group, coordinating initiatives with the scientific advisory board, overseeing standardization of biotic inventories and broadening our network within the forest research community.





OHalloran 2Thomas L. O’Halloran joined the Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation at Virginia Tech as a research assistant professor in 2015. Tom is also founder of the Land-Atmosphere Research Station at Sweet Briar College and runs that research facility as a joint operation of the two schools.

Before joining the Sweet Briar faculty in the fall of 2011, Tom conducted three years of postdoctoral research at Oregon State University. He received his Ph.D. in environmental sciences in 2008 from the University of Virginia, where he also earned his B.A. and M.S. degrees.

His research quantifies the ecosystem services provided by vegetation at the land-atmosphere interface, including carbon sequestration, energy balance regulation, and aerosol production.  He analyzes these questions using remote-sensing and modeling, but particularly enjoys working on site.






Past Directors

Ted Harris, Durham, NC (founder)

Lincoln P. Brower, PhD, Roseland, VA William H. Martin, PhD, Lexington, KY
Paul D. Cronin, Rectortown, VA J. James Murray, Jr., D.Phil., Charlottesville, VA
Ginny Sancilio Cross, Virginia Beach, VA Stephen P. Nash, Richmond, VA
Harold H. Kolb, Jr., PhD, Covesville, VA Paul F. Revell, Weyers Cave, VA
Richard “Dickie” Foster, Virginia Beach, VA Mark Snyder, Eugene, OR
Melissa Gildea, Reston, VA Kay Van Allen, Lynchburg, VA
Lewis B. Goode, Jr., Virginia Beach, VA (1929-2014) Nancy L. Weiss, M.D., Charlottesville, VA