Officers and Directors

Ches Goodall

McChesney “Ches” Goodall, co-founder of Virginia Forestry and Wildlife Group, has
managed forestlands in Virginia for more than thirty-five years and is guided by an ethic of managing land under a holistic, conservationist ideal. Until recently, Ches was coordinator of the Albemarle County Acquisition of Conservation Easements program, which protected nearly 10,000 acres of farmland in central Virginia. His family owns a large farm in Highland County that is under an easement with the Nature Conservancy. This easement preserves much of the mature forestland, rare and threatened habitats, and riparian zones along Laurel Fork. He received his Bachelor’s degree in plant ecology from Duke University in 1979 and his Master’s degree in forest management and ecology from the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke in 1984. He lives in Richmond with his wife of twenty-two years.

Hullihen Williams Moore, as vice president, is a member of The 500-Year Forest Foundation executive committee. Hullie brings a wealth of board experience that includes the Shenandoah National Park Trust. He practiced law in Richmond for 25 years and served as a member of the Virginia State Corporation Commission for 12. He is acclaimed as a nature photographer for his book “Shenandoah.”

Richard M. Busofsky, treasurer, was born and raised in Philadelphia where he graduated with a BS in accounting from the Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science before attending Golden Gate University and earning an MS in Taxation. He spent his first eight years as a CPA in Southern California. Rich joined Hantzmon Wiebel LLP in 1988 and is currently a tax partner. He has been recognized in numerous years by Virginia Business magazine as a “Super CPA” and by friends, family and co-workers as an avid Philadelphia sports fan, even before the 2018 Super Bowl gave him such a high-profile reason to be.

Karin Warren, board secretary, is the Herzog Family Chair of Environmental Studies & Science at Randolph College. She earned a B.S. in Meteorology from Cornell University, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Energy and Resources from the University of California at Berkeley, where she held a Department of Energy Global Change Fellowship. At Randolph College, she developed the BA and BS degree programs, and has chaired the Environmental Studies & Science department since 2002. Her areas of interest include energy and sustainable development, climate and global change, community resilience, Environmental Studies & Science pedagogy, and quantitative environmental methods.

James Edmunds II

James Easley Edmunds, II is a fourth-generation farmer, raising cattle, grain, hay, and timber on family farm. He is also a member of the Virginia House of Delegates District 60, where he is currently serving his 7th term, and is a member of several committees including the Natural Resources Committee. James has been named a Distinguished Advocate for Virginia Business by the Virginia Chamber of Commerce in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019.

David O. Ledbetter, JD, is special Counsel with Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP, he is a specialist in environmental law and previously served as the Foundation’s secretary and pro bono attorney. David has been associated with the organization since its inception.

Danielle Racke is educational coordinator for the University of Lynchburg’s Claytor Nature Center, working to connect young people with nature through camp and other activities. She has B.A. degrees in Music and in Biology from Knox College; an M.S. in biology from Western Kentucky University; as well as an M.A. in Biology from the University of Virginia. She is pursuing an MBA from the University of Lynchburg. Among her many professional activities, she is chair of the certification advisory board of the Virginia Association for Environmental Education and a voting member of the Virginia Resource Use Education Council. She is the author of numerous research treatises and has taught and mentored student researchers in biology, education and environmental science.

Jeffrey L. Smith, a board member of The 500-Year Forest Foundation, was the Foundation’s program director for five years and brings much in the way of institutional history and continuity. He is on the forests work group and consults on fundraising and communications. He is executive director of Rush Homes, a Lynchburg-area nonprofit that builds housing for the physically challenged.

Mary Wickham

We welcome Mary Wickham, who joined the 500-year Forest Foundation Board in January. Mary has a background in law, education, and nonprofit management. She served as the Head of St. Andrew’s School and Executive Director of the Sacred Heart Center, both in Richmond. An avid hiker and nature enthusiast, Mary is a Virginia Master Naturalist with the Pocahontas Chapter and an active volunteer with the James River Park’s Invasive Plant Task Force. Mary has two grown sons and lives in Richmond with her husband George. She can frequently be found “forest bathing” either in Richmond’s green spaces, on property bordering the Shenandoah National Park near Syria, Va., or in Cedar Mountain, N.C.

Past Directors

Ted Harris, Durham, NC

David O. Ledbetter, Richmond, VA
Frank Biasiolli, Charlottesville, VA
Kim Biasiolli, Charlottesville, VA
Lincoln P. Brower, Roseland, VA (1931-2018)
Paul D. Cronin, Rectortown, VA
Peter Dutnell, Albemarle County, VA
Richard “Dickie” Foster, Virginia Beach, VA
Melissa Gildea, Reston, VA
Lewis B. Goode, Jr., Virginia Beach, VA (1929-2014)
Harold H. Kolb, Jr., Covesville, VA
William H. Martin, Lexington, KY

J. James Murray, Jr., Charlottesville, VA
Stephen P. Nash, Richmond, VA
Thomas O’Halloran, Clemson, SC
Florena Fay Paurillo, Charlottesville, VA
Carolyn L. Phillips, Batesville, VA
Paul F. Revell, Weyers Cave, VA (1950-2016)
Ginny Sancilio Cross, Virginia Beach, VA
H.H. Shugart, Charlottesville, VA
Mark Snyder, Eugene, OR
Kay Van Allen, Lynchburg, VA
Nancy L. Weiss, Charlottesville, VA

500-Year Forest Foundation

PO Box 1272
Charlottesville, VA 22902